Day 20: Praying From Within the Tomb

 

This weekend we celebrate the death and resurrection of Christ, but how much do we reflect on His burial. Can you imagine being the disciples. Those hours between His death and resurrection had to have been flooded with all kinds of thoughts and emotions. They must have reflected on so many of Jesus memories, teachings and prophecies. They found themselves in the middle of two significant events wondering what do we do and what they should we believe. We are not much different than the first disciples. Good Friday reminds us of our redemption through the cross. Easter reminds us of the promise, that is yet to come, of overcoming once and for all sin and death. However, there is a lot of life that is lived, spiritually speaking, between these two events and we wrestle with the same thoughts of what to do and what we should believe.

Today, I want us to pray in light of the significance of Jesus death and resurrection. Below are three prayers that Drew challenged us to pray at our Good Friday Service. Make these prayers your prayers today. Ask God to search your heart and reveal areas where you are believing lies and not trusting His work and promises. Praise Him for His promises and work in your life. Try to be specific in your prayers today.

2 Corinthians 5:21 says,  “For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God”. This is the foundation for who I am in Christ. Therefore I will… 

1. Renounce the lie that I am rejected, unloved and shameful. In Christ, I am Accepted.

 God says:

John 1:12 I am God’s child.

John 15:15 As a disciple, I am a friend of Jesus Christ.

Romans 5:1 I have been justified.

1 Corinthians 6:17 I am united with the Lord, and I am one with Him in spirit.

1 Corinthians 6:19-20 I have been bought with a price and I belong to God.

1 Corinthians 12:27 I am a member of Christ’s body.

Ephesians 1:1 I am a saint, a holy one.

Ephesians 1:3-8 I have been chosen by God and adopted as His child.

Colossians 1:13-14 I have been redeemed and forgiven of all my sins.

Colossians 2:9-10 I am complete in Christ.

Hebrews 4:14-16 I have direct access to the throne of grace through Jesus Christ.

 

2. I renounce the lie that I am guilty, unprotected, alone, or abandoned.  In Christ Jesus, I am secure. 

God says:

Romans 8:1-2 I am free from condemnation.

Romans 8:28 I am assured that God works for His glory and my eternal good in all circumstances.

Romans 8:31-39 I am free from any condemnation brought against me and I cannot be separated from the love of God.

2 Corinthians 1:21-22 I have been established, anointed and sealed by God.

Colossians 3:1-4 I am hidden with Christ in God.

Philippians 1:6 I am confident that God will complete the good work He started in me.

Philippians 3:20 I am a citizen of heaven.

2 Timothy 1:7 I have not been given a spirit of fear but of power, love and a sound mind.

1 John 5:18 I am born of God and the evil one cannot touch me.

 

3. I renounce the lie that I am worthless, inadequate, helpless, or hopeless. In Christ Jesus, I am significant.

God says:

John 15:5 I am a branch of Jesus Christ, the true vine, and a channel of His life.

John 15:16 I have been chosen and appointed to bear fruit.

1 Corinthians 3:16 I am God’s temple.

2 Corinthians 5:17-21 I am a minister of reconciliation for God.

Ephesians 2:6 I am seated with Jesus Christ in the heavenly realm.

Ephesians 2:10 I am God’s workmanship.

Ephesians 3:12 I may approach God with freedom and confidence.

Philippians 4:13 I can do all things through Christ, who strengthens me.

 

 

2 responses to “Day 20: Praying From Within the Tomb”

  1. Anonymous says :

    Thank you SO much for posting these! I couldn’t write fast enough and they weren’t in the sermon notes. It was a real blessing to me to renounce these as the LIES they are!

  2. whatsapp says :

    I have read so many content on the topic of the blogger lovers however this piece of writing is genuinely
    a pleasant post, keep it up.

Share your praises and prayers